Asian American Arts Alliance

Martina Arroyo Foundation 2017 Gala Honored James Morris, Ailyn Pérez, Chita Rivera and Tommy Tune

Event Details

Martina Arroyo Foundation 2017 Gala Honored James Morris, Ailyn Pérez, Chita Rivera and Tommy Tune

Time: December 8, 2017 all day
Location: NYC
Event Discipline: gala
Organized By: Michelle Tabnick Communications
Latest Activity: Dec 15, 2017

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

New York, NY - The Martina Arroyo Foundation's 13th Annual Gala, a celebration of Prelude to Performance, Role Class and Outreach Programs, was held on Monday, November 13, 2017 beginning 6:30pm in the Grand Salon of the JW Marriott Essex House,160 Central Park South, NYC.


The gala, hosted by Terrance McKnight, honored James Morris,Metropolitan Opera Bass-Baritone; Ailyn Pérez, Metropolitan Opera Soprano; Chita Rivera, Tony Award Winning Actress; and Tommy Tune, Tony Award Winning Actor.


The evening began with cocktails at 6:30pm and dinner at 7:30pm with award presentations and a live auction, followed by dessert and a special performance by Prelude to Performance Young Artists and Special Guests, with DeAndre Simmons singing "A te l'estremo addio...Il lacerato spirito" from Simon Boccanegra and Jessica Sandidge singing the "A forse lui/Sempre Libera."


The mission of the Martina Arroyo Foundation is to counsel young singers in the interpretation of complete roles for public performances. The Foundation guides each singer in the preparation of an entire operatic role through a formal educational process that includes the background of the drama, the historical perspective, the psychological motivation of each character, and language proficiency. 


Gala Chairs: Andrew Martin-Weber and Garry Spector


Benefit Committee: Martina Arroyo, Beatrice M. Disman, The Gerda Lissner Foundation, Nimet Habachy, Suzan Habachy, Kenneth Koen, Donna Sydney Lewis, Robert Lombardo

Andrew Martin-Weber, Richard J. Miller, Jr., Liliane & Hervé Offredo, Ernst Rieser, Murray Rosenthal, Leonard Rubin, Christie Salomon, Susan & Garry Spector, Cecilia & Tian Lih Teng, 

Elizabeth Tunick, James D. Wolfensohn

Comment Wall

Follow us!

Support us!

© 2018   Created by a4 - Network Admin.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service