Asian American Arts Alliance

Call for Nominations: Literary Awards - Asian American Writers' Workshop

Deadline: Friday, June 30, 2017, 11:59 PM for 2016 titles 

Since 1998, The Asian American Writers' Workshop has presented the highest literary honor for Asian American writers. Since the inception of the awards we have actively solicited entries to ensure that a comprehensive list of the year's fiction, poetry, and nonfiction titles by Asian American authors are entered into competition. Past winners of the award include: Jhumpa Lahiri, Pulitzer Prize winner for Interpreter of Maladies; Ha Jin, National Book Award winner for Waiting; Susan Choi, Pulitzer Prize finalist for American Woman; Amitav Ghosh, Booker Prize finalist for Sea of Poppies; Mei-Mei Berssenbrugge, American Book Award winner for The Heat Bird; and Arthur Sze, Pulitzer Prize finalist for Compass Rose; among many others. As the achievements of these writers show, Asian American literature is not just a niche genre, but a central chapter in our nation's literature.

The Awards

The Annual Asian American Literary Awards honors works by Asian American writers for excellence in three categories: (1) fiction, (2) poetry, and (3) nonfiction.


  • The work must have been originally written in English.
  • Author must be of Asian descent living in the United States.
  • There is no citizenship restriction.
  • There is no age restriction.
  • The work must be published for general commercial release in the United States. "Asian American" is defined broadly to include not just, for example, Chinese and Indian Americans, but also Asian American adoptee and multiracial writers, Indo-caribbean writers, and West Asians, such as Iranians and Arab Americans. The Asian American Writers' Workshop and Judging Committee reserve the right to take the term "Asian descent" on a case by case basis. Please contact us at with any questions or concerns.
  • The work must be published during the 2016/2017 calendar year.
  • Works must have been published by large, trade or small presses/publishers. Manuscripts and galleys may be submitted if the work has not yet gone to print. Self-published works, 'zines or vanity publications are not eligible. Anthologies or books containing more than one author are also not eligible.
  • The Award may be awarded to works that have previously won other prizes or recognition.

How to Apply

  • Entries may be submitted only by the author, agent, publicist, or publisher of the work.
  • A completed online application form [link] must be submitted with each entry by Friday, June 30, 2017, 11:59 PM for 2016 titles and Friday, September 29, 2017, 11:59 PM for 2017 titles.
  • Four copies of the work must also be submitted and postmarked by Friday, June 30, 2017, 11:59 PM for 2016 titles and Friday, September 29, 2017, 11:59 PM for 2017 titles for review by the Judging Committee.
  • AAWW will accept entries via USPS, FedEx, or UPS, and is not responsible for lost entries. No books will be returned. Additional copies may be requested for shortlisted works. All entries become the property of The Asian American Writers' Workshop or members of the Judging Committee.
  • Authors, publicists, publishers, or agents may submit more than one entry, but a separate application form must be completed for each entry.
  • A $100.00 entry fee must be paid online via PayPal or by check made payable to: "The Asian American Writers' Workshop." Please note on the memo line the author’s last name and year the book was published in i.e. “LASTNAME 2016”/"LASTNAME 2017".
  • In the event that a participant cannot pay this fee, a waiver may be granted upon approval. Participants requesting a waiver must contact the AAWW prior to submitting an entry.
  • Please do not contact the Asian American Writers' Workshop or the Judging Committee to inquire about the status of your entry.

Learn more

Views: 117

Reply to This

Follow us!

Support us!

© 2019   Created by a4 - Network Admin.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service