Asian American Arts Alliance

Fellowships & Awards

Asian American Arts Alliance is pleased to administer, with support from the New York Community Trust, the Van Lier Fellowships. This year, in its third iteration of a three-year cycle of fellowships, the Alliance will be running two eight-month fellowships in the categories of Visual Arts Practice and Visual Arts Curation. The eight-month long program is meant to help an early-career practicing artist and curator of Asian American descent living in New York City to develop their talent and help establish them in the professional arts community. Learn more

The 2016  Van Lier Fellowships were in theater and were awarded to Seonjae Kim (directing) and Diana Oh (acting). Learn more

The 2017 Van Lier Fellowships were in music and were awarded to Rob Rusli (composition) and Pawan Benjamin (performance). Learn more

The 2018 Van Lier Fellowships were in visual arts and were awarded to Maia Chao (practice) and Simon Wu (curation).

The Jadin Wong Award is a tribute to the life and work of renowned Chinese American actress, dancer, and comedienne Jadin Wong. Since her teenage years, Ms. Wong had been a pioneer and innovator of Asian American performing arts. Learn more

Check back here soon for the latest Jadin Wong Dance Award in Choreography Guidelines.

The 2016 Jadin Wong Dance Award winner was Jesse Obremski.

Established in 2011, the Wai Look Award for Outstanding Service to the Arts is a tribute to the life and work of Wai Look, who served on the Asian American Arts Alliances board of directors from 1999 until her death in December 2010. She spent most of her career in the arts, as an administrator and in artist services, and devoted herself to helping others. Ms. Look also strongly believed in the importance of volunteering, which was reflected in her personal, as well as professional life. The award is given periodically to an Asian American who is making a significant contribution to the arts by demonstrating a commitment to outstanding service, advocacy and/or leadership. Learn more

The 2016 Wai Look Awardees were Kundiman co-founders Sarah Gambito and Joseph Legaspi.

© 2019   Created by a4 - Network Admin.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service